School Logo

Safeguarding Statement

Oakley CE Junior School is committed to safeguarding and promoting the welfare of children and expects all staff, governors and volunteers to share this commitment.


We have a number of policies and procedures in place that contribute to our safeguarding commitment, including our Safeguarding and Child Protection Policy which can be viewed in Policies, under Key Information on our website. 


We listen to our pupils and take seriously what they tell us. All school staff are trained in Child Protection, and children are made aware of the adults they can talk to if they have any concerns. Staff are trained to look out for signs of physical/emotional harm or neglect and are required to report these to the Designated Safeguarding Lead (DSL) or the Deputy Designated Safeguarding Lead (DDSL).


Sometimes we may need to share information and work in partnership with other agencies when there are concerns about a child's welfare. We will ensure that our concerns about our pupils are discussed with his/her parents/carers first unless we have reason to believe that such a move would be contrary to the child's welfare.


We actively support the Government's Prevent Agenda to counter radicalism and extremism.


Our Designated Safeguarding Lead (DSL) is Sarah Hill (Headteacher)

Our Deputy DSL is Hannah Shrewsbury (Deputy Headteacher)

Additional Deputy DSL's are Tracey Wood (School Business Manager), Julie Moore (HLTA / ELSA) and Sarah McCaffery (ELSA)

Our School Governor with a safeguarding responsibility is Janet Cullinane.


All members of the safeguarding team can be contacted via the school office.


If you have a safeguarding concern please contact our DSL or 01256 780433.